There’s Something About Diana

November 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

Before I start writing this piece, I promise myself that I will not be overly judgmental. That.. perhaps ..

1, What appeared in today’s Star is just an excerpt of a REAL lengthy interview with Diana Danielle. For those who as ignorant as myself over Diana and her body of work, her instant CV would be something like this: 19 & an actress. I also found out that Diana seems to have a lot of films under her belt – according to this article written, she has appeared in 10 films. Taking into consideration of her age and with that kind of volume of acting, I won’t be suprised if she’s started to ‘act’ ever since her formative ‘years’ in the womb, itself.

2, I also hoped that with all her experiences handling the media, what’s written is an edited version of what she actually say. Due to the lengthy explanatory part, the paper has to edit it to fit the space.

3, That she is actually not that dumb and fluffy or in other word : Bimbo!

11th November 2010 edition of The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: Actress Diana Danielle who stars in the hugely successful musical film Magika, is planning to release a self-composed song next year, which she describes as “heartbreaking.” Songwriting is something she’s been doing for years but she has never released any songs professionally. “I’ve been having tunes in my head for the past few years but this is a song that I feel I need to put out because it means a lot to me,” says the 19-year-old.

Heartbreaker: Diana describes her soon to be released song as ˜heartbreaking’.

She described the song as an acoustic rock ballad, which was entitled Tak Pernah Ada. Diana said she was trying to release the song early next year. “I don’t know if I’ll do an entire album as I still want to concentrate on acting, which is my passion,” she said. Diana acted in her first movie, Idola, and has 10 movies under her belt to date. But Magika might prove to be her biggest yet. It has grossed RM4mil in cinemas and swept the recent Filem Festival Malaysia awards. “It’s a really fun movie. Friends who have never seen a Malay movie before told me that they’ve seen it five or six times,” she says.

Diana is a busy woman these days with three movies coming out next year “ Hanyut, Bara Jiwa and Dalam Botol in which she plays a transexual’s love interest. She is also pursuing a degree in psychology. The combination of movies, studies and music can be tiring for Diana.

So, how does she unwind? She enjoys spending time with her horse, Tic Tac, which she named after the sweets brand. “Yes, I was with my horse the other day. I think he was jealous that I was feeding the other horses. So, he bit me,” she said.

That was the article.

I seriously hope that this interview was done, say 5 – 6 months ago, and resurfaced today because there’s an empty space that needs filling up…by something really stupid.

I don’t know about you but, sometime .. there are a few beautiful people who are not really that, hmm..smart! Or, maybe they are smart, but their brains took a holiday on that specific day of interview.

Someone have got to enlighten Diana that when one is by her/himself and starts to “hear” music or voices, that’s a sign of, err..lunacy, and however popular or known you are by the public, you should not divulge that kind of information. Why? For fear someone nasty and bitchy plus sarcastic, calls you ‘Crazy!’ – as in ‘Here comes crazy!’ which I am about to, yes proclaim to the world now.

I find it even disturbing when while divulging her madness to the public, she add a twist – ‘studying psychology’. But hey, maybe she missed the class on Schizophrenia due to her hectic schedule. We will never know nor will we ever care.

I am also somewhat taken with how industrious this young girl is. I mean, I have like 24-hours a day to live but somehow, again .. perhaps, God extended the timing in her days due to her status as celebrity, as looking at her tight schedule of acting, studying, attending events and ‘hearing never-released-and-never-head-of music in her head’ .. she forgot one important thing that we all mere mortals need: sleep!

Since I am a nobody myself, but maybe (who knows!) once God upgraded a person from mere nobody to celebrity, sleeping is no longer necessary and sanity is an option, but again, that’s me as mere mortal talking!

Talking about sanity .. how can you as the sole person who hear this unheard and unreleased song label it as ‘heartbreaking’? Or, what is heartbreaking, per se? I can understand when an artist claimed her soon-to-be-released song as ‘pop’, ‘light’, ‘mellow’ .. but heartbreaking? Will the nation’s suicidal rate increased by 100% after the release of this ‘heartbreaking’ song, or will we be heartbroken after listening to this sad-excuse-for-a-song? Lemme guess….

Well, look at the bright side .. though we whine and bitch about these celebrities for saying the darnest things, how many of us own a horse? Even with questionable sanity  et al, Diana proves that sometime playing bimbo pays, and if all fails .. she has Tic Tac to run off into the sunset.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading There’s Something About Diana at Criticulingus.

meta